Final Artwork + Fever Tonight

TNHZ_FINAL_COVER

TNHZ_FINAL_INSIDESLIP_v4

Here it is, my final design for the two song single ‘Fever’ Teaser which will be for sale tonight at the Old Ironsides release party for The New Humans with a price of $3 for the single and $5 cover charge. TNHZ will be performing with Call Me Ishmael and Pets. They will be the second performance of the evening. Old Ironsides is located at 10th and S street in Midtown so get on down there around 10pm. This is a big night for me and especially The New Humans and I hope all of you can make it out to support the music and design.

This was my first real project outside of school and I really enjoyed it because I was working with such an inspirational band that carries a strong voice . The New Humans and I have a similar nostalgic vision and I’ve been a fan since they began so we were able collaborate our ideas to create successful artwork. They wanted to keep it clean and simple so I decided to go with simple shapes and composition with minimal use of type. I usually have a retro style so we thought it would actually look great if the artwork expressed some nostalgia.

While we were brainstorming I asked Cole if they had any colors in mind for the artwork and he said that they always think of purple as a projection of their music. I thought is was a great color to express their music and especially the songs on the single: Fever and Modern Age. So I thought we would use a complimentary for a second color so I chose a gold-like color which is appears as an amber. This color represents The New Humans on the cover shifting the norm in the system of structured and ordered society. On the inside slip I created four male figures which take on two meanings. One to represent the four band members and the second where the odd one out represents the new human of the group of humans. The cover art is also printed on the CD itself so the the CD and its casing are quite cohesive. Look forward to seeing much more work from me for The New Humans. I’ll be taking photos at the show so “watch out” for those photos.

If you want to hear Fever and Modern Age visit there Myspace and give a listen and stream ’em.

Also find them on Facebook, Twitter, and on my Flickr page.

18 Comments

Filed under Design, Music, Shows, TNHZ

18 responses to “Final Artwork + Fever Tonight

  1. UNCLE A........

    MEJO…….. u have always been & always be the mannnnnnn. Even from far away I have always been & always will be proud of u…… keep them coming & keep me up dated. love uncle A…………..

  2. Definitely copped!

    That is clean. Since I won’t be able to go tonight, cop a cd for me and I’ll get you back when school starts…
    if that’s cool with you, cus it’s what friends do.

  3. Tia Jay-Jay

    Hey Pops….looks great!!! I am a proud tia. Love You!

  4. Pati

    Great job! From one designer to another, I am humbled. You are going to be very successful, that is certain! And the photos are amazing!

  5. Hi Raoul,

    I love your design, and especially your explanation. Great concept and execution all the way through. Strong Work. Hope to see you soon.

    Love Uncle Joey D

    • jetstreamprojector

      Thank you so much Uncle Joey. I really appreciate your feedback and I’m glad to hear from you. Bookmark my blog so you can be updated with my work and inspirations!

  6. Barbara MacQuiddy

    Raoul,

    Beautiful artwork and great slideshow of photos. Little Raoul is getting bigger and more capable. Thanks for keeping me in the loop.

    Barbara

  7. jetstreamprojector

    I’m glad you were able to see my work. Keep me bookmarked on your computer so you can stay updated with my work and inspirations. I’ll keep you updated with emails too. Little Raoul is doing so great you would be very amazed at how much he has grown.

  8. Nomo

    Raoul, Indeed great stuff my man. I am very proud of your diligence & focus. I look forward to seeing more.

    May God Bless.
    Painting is a faith, and it imposes the duty to disregard public opinion.

    Vincent Van Gogh
    1853-1890, Dutch-born French Painter

  9. jetstreamprojector

    Glad you could see my work and thanks for the great words. Keep me bookmarked so you can stay updated with my work and inspirations. Great to hear from you.

  10. DOPE RAOUL! SEE U MONDAY!

  11. Uncle Steve

    Hey Pops-

    Doin’ your thing! Very clean, very focused. I wish all of us could have the courage to let creativity shine the way you have. It’s a quality I will always admire in you……Love You

    • jetstreamprojector

      Uncle Steve,

      Thank you so much for your encouraging words. I’m glad you got to see my work. Be sure to bookmark the blog so you can stay updated with my work and inspirations. Love you.

  12. dusselull

    I love it!!

Leave a Reply

