The Visual Language of Herbert Matter

For the longest time I have felt torn between photography and graphic design. Over the last year I have really discovered that there were endless ways to blend the two disciplines. I have created photo dominant design compositions, played with type over an image, and even used images to create typography. The knowledge and understanding of design principles have really helped me develop a better eye as a photographer. I have learned to enhance the aesthetics of my compositions just moving my camera and cropping my view of the world in a certain way keeping focus on the balance and contrast of the shapes and objects that I am shooting. Photography in design and advertising is still widely used all over the world and we see it everyday on billboards, magazines, clothing, posters, etc. I know the blend of photography and typography is definitely a technique I am keep under my design arsenal.

When I first came across Herbert Matter I was astonished at the timelessness in his work. Soon after that I found out that he was one of the pioneers of combining photo-montage with typography and that didn’t surprise me at all. I’ve seen his works and his name has been discussed briefly in the graphic design courses I have taken but never did I have a true appreciation for his work until now.

The Visual Language of Herbert Matter is a revealing look at the fascinating life story of the highly influential mid-century modern design master. Known as a quintessential designer’s designer, Swiss born Herbert Matter is largely credited with expanding the use of photography as a design tool and bringing the semantics of fine art into the realm of applied arts.

So if you are in San Francisco or live near the city you should definitely make time to go see the first sneak peek of this film 2pm this Sunday August 29th 2010 at Yerba Buena Center. I’ll be there for sure.

Visit the film’s website for more information.

Also, if you are in to it I would recommend reading about and watching the title sequence on Art of the Title.

2 Comments

Filed under Design, film, photography, typography

2 responses to “The Visual Language of Herbert Matter

  1. I can totally agree with your line about how learning more about photography and design in the last year You have really discovered that there were endless ways to blend the two disciplines. Very True. Nice Post.

Leave a Reply

